SENATE AMENDMENT NO.

Offered by		Of	
------------	--	----	--

Ame

end <u>SS/SCS/Senate</u> Bill No. <u>152</u> , Page <u>12</u> , Section <u>166.456</u> , Line <u>7</u> ,		
2	by inserting after all of said line the following:	
3	"174.453. 1. Except as provided in section 174.450,	
4	the board of governors shall be appointed as follows:	
5	(1) Five voting members shall be selected from the	
6	counties comprising the institution's historic statutory	
7	service region as described in section 174.010, except that	
8	no more than two members shall be appointed from any one	
9	county with a population of less than two hundred thousand	
10	inhabitants;	
11	(2) Two voting members shall be selected from any of	
12	the counties in the state which are outside of the	
13	institution's historic service region; and	
14	(3) One nonvoting member who is a student shall be	
15	selected in the same manner as prescribed in section 174.055	
16	2. The term of service of the governors shall be as	
17	follows:	
18	(1) The voting members shall be appointed for terms of	
19	six years; and	
20	(2) The nonvoting student member shall serve a two-	
21	year term.	
22	3. Members of any board of governors selected pursuant	
23	to this section and in office on May 13, 1999, shall serve	
24	the remainder of their unexpired terms.	

- 4. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 1 of this section, the board of governors of Missouri Southern State University shall be appointed as follows:
- 28 (1) Six voting members shall be selected from any of 29 the following counties: Barton, Jasper, Newton, McDonald, 30 Dade, Lawrence, and Barry provided that no more than three 31 of these six members shall be appointed from any one county;
- 32 (2) Two voting members shall be selected from any of 33 the counties in the state which are outside of the counties 34 articulated in subdivision (1) of this subsection;
- 35 (3) One nonvoting member who is a student shall be 36 selected in the same manner as prescribed in section 37 174.055; and
- 38 (4) The provisions of subdivisions (1) and (2) of this 39 subsection shall only apply to board members first appointed 40 after August 28, 2004.
- 5. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 1 of this section, the board of governors of Missouri Western State University shall be composed of eight members appointed as follows:
- (1) Five voting members shall be selected from any of the following counties: Buchanan, Platte, Clinton, Andrew, and DeKalb [provided that no more than three of these five members shall be appointed from any one county];
- 49 (2) [Two voting members shall be selected from any of 50 the counties in the state which are outside of the counties 51 articulated in subdivision (1) of this subsection;
- 52 (3)] One nonvoting member who is a student shall be 53 selected in the same manner as prescribed in section 54 174.055; and
- 55 [(4)] (3) The provisions of subdivisions (1) and (2) 56 of this subsection shall only apply to board members first 57 appointed after August 28, 2005."; and

Further amend the title and enacting clause accordingly.