15 LC 28 7348ER

House Bill 88

By: Representative Prince of the 127th

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

1	To amend an Act creating a	new charter for the City of St	apleton, approved March 30, 20	00

- 2 (Ga. L. 2000, p. 3543), as amended, particularly by an Act approved October 25, 2001
- 3 (Ga. L. 2001, Ex. Sess., p. 743), so as to change the terms of office of the mayor and
- 4 councilmembers; to provide for at-large elections; to provide for related matters; to repeal
- 5 conflicting laws; and for other purposes.

6 BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:

7 SECTION 1.

- 8 An Act creating a new charter for the City of Stapleton, approved March 30, 2000 (Ga. L.
- 9 2000, p. 3543), as amended, particularly by an Act approved October 25, 2001 (Ga. L. 2001,
- 10 Ex. Sess., p. 743), is amended by striking Section 2.05 in its entirety and inserting in lieu
- 11 thereof a new Section 2.05 to read as follows:

12 "SECTION 2.05.

Election of the city council and mayor.

- 14 (a) On the Tuesday following the first Monday in November, 2016, an election shall be
- 15 conducted by the municipal election superintendent at the same hours and places for
- general elections to elect three councilmembers. The three candidates for city council
- elected at that time to the councilmember positions held on January 1, 2015, by Kevin E.
- Prescott (Seat No. 1), Willie A. Moss (Seat No. 2), and Lisa M. Cranford (Seat No. 3) shall
- take office on January 1, 2017, and serve for terms expiring December 31, 2017, and until
- such city councilmembers' successors are elected and qualified as provided in
- subsection (c) of this section.
- 22 (b) On the Tuesday following the first Monday in November, 2015, an election shall be
- conducted by the municipal election superintendent at the same hours and places for
- 24 general elections to elect a mayor and two councilmembers. The mayor elected at that time

15 LC 28 7348ER

shall take office on January 1, 2016, at the expiration of the term of office of the person 25 serving as mayor on January 1, 2014, Paul Frank Parrish. The two candidates for city 26 27 council elected at that time to the councilmember positions held on January 1, 2014, by Tara L. Parrish (Seat No. 4) and Jason V. Irby (Seat No. 5) shall take office on 28 29 January 1, 2016. The mayor and city councilmembers elected in November, 2015, shall serve for terms expiring December 31, 2019, and until such mayor's and city 30 councilmembers' successors are elected and qualified as provided in subsection (c) of this 31 32 section. 33 (c) Thereafter, the successors to the positions held by Prescott (Seat No. 1), Moss (Seat No. 2), and Cranford (Seat No. 3) shall be elected on the Tuesday following the first 34 Monday in November 2017 and continuing every fourth year in odd-numbered years 35 thereafter. Such successors shall take office on January 1 of the following year at the 36 expiration of the then current terms of office. The successors to the positions held by 37 38 Parrish (Mayor), Parrish (Seat No. 4), and Irby (Seat No. 5) shall be elected on the Tuesday following the first Monday in November 2019 and continuing every fourth year in 39 odd-numbered years thereafter. Such successors shall take office on January 1 of the 40 41 following year at the expiration of the then current terms of office. The mayor and all 42 councilmembers elected as provided in this subsection shall serve for terms of office of 43 four years each so that a continuing body is created. 44 (d) Each councilmember and mayor shall be elected at large by the voters of the entire 45 municipality."

46 SECTION 2.

47 All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.